Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

KCLU big radio winner at 72nd annual Golden Mike Awards

KCLU wins nine Golden Mikes, most of any radio station.

KCLU won the Golden Mikes for “Best Newscast,” “Best Live Reporting,” and “Best News Reporting,” as well as six other Golden Mikes at the 72nd annual Golden Mikes show.

KCLU’s Willa Sandmeyer, John Palminteri, and Lance Orozco won for “Best Newscast Under 15 Minutes,” in Division B. (All of KCLU’s wins are in Division B, which is for small stations.)

KCLU’s Caroline Feraday won two individual Golden Mikes:

KCLU’s Lance Orozco won six individual Golden Mikes:

The Golden Mikes are the oldest broadcast journalism awards show in America, and honor excellence in broadcast journalism in Southern and Central California.

At the awards show in Los Angeles, the RTNA also honored KABC-TV Meteorologist Dallas Raines and KCBS/KCAL Sportscaster Jim Hill with “Lifetime Achievement Awards.”

Jaime Jarrin, the Spanish-language voice of the Los Angeles Dodgers for 64 years, received the non-profit organization’s highest award, it’s “Broadcast Legend” Award.