Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Local News

Voters Decide Numerous Municipal Elections In Ventura County


The 2020 election included a number of city council races in Ventura County. In the City of Ventura, Joe Schroeder, Mike Johnson, and Doug Halter are winners of City Council posts.  In Thousand Oaks, Al Adam and Joel Price were elected. 

n Oxnard, John Zaragoza was elected mayor, while Oscar Madrigal, Bryan MacDonald, and Vianey Lopez won council seats.

In Simi Valley, Keith Mashburn was elected mayor, and Elaine Litster won a council seat. However, in Simi Valley’s First District, the election is still too close to call.  Dee Dee Cavanaugh has a 12 vote lead over Phil Loos.

Andy Sobel and Leslie Cornejo won Santa Paula City Council terms.  In Port Hueneme, Bobby Martinez and Misty Perez emerged from a field of five candidates to win seats.  Betsy Stix was elected as Ojai’s new Mayor, and Suza Francina won an Ojai City Council post.

Fillmore voters chose Christina Reyes Villasenor, Ari Larson, and Mark Austin for their City Council.

Janice Parvin was elected as Moorpark’s Mayor, with Daniel Groff and Antonio Castro elected to the City Council.  And finally, Kevin Kildee and Tony Trembley won Camarillo City Council posts.