Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Local News

Slew Of City Council Races In Ventura County Decided By Voters

Voters decided a number of City Council races in Ventura County in Tuesday's election.

In Oxnard, Mayor Tim Flynn was re-elected, while Bryan McDonald and Aaron Starr were the top two vote-getters out of 11 candidates for city council seats. In Camarillo, Kevin Kildee and Tony Trembley were the top vote getters of the five candidates seeking the two open city council spots.

Fillmore had three candidates, and three council openings, so Tim Holmgren, Mark Austin, and Manuel Minjares were elected. In Moorpark, Janice Parvin was re-elected as Mayor, while Ken Simmons and Roseann Mikos were the top vote getters among the six candidates for two city council seats.

Retired Ventura County CEO Johnny Johnston returned to government service, after being elected as Ojai’s new mayor. He’ll be joined by Suza Francina, who was elected to the city council. Will Berg and Sylvia Schnopp were elected to the Port Hueneme City Council, while Clint Garman and Martin Hernandez won Santa Paula City Council seats.

In Simi Valley, Keith Mashburn and Dee Dee Cavanaugh were the top vote getters, while in Thousand Oaks Al Adam and Rob McCoy kept their City Council seats. And finally, in Ventura out of a packed field of 10 candidates Matt Lavere, Cheryl Heitman, and Christy Weir emerged with council terms.

Related Stories